Continuing Education Credits

STS is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The Society of Thoracic Surgeons designates this enduring material for a maximum of 44.50 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits[™]. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Disclosure Information

As a sponsor of continuing medical education accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), The Society of Thoracic Surgeons requires that any individual who is in a position to control the content of an educational activity must disclose all financial relationships with any ineligible companies. This is to ensure that that all decisions related to the planning, faculty selection, delivery, and evaluation of accredited education are made without any influence or involvement from the owners and employees of an ineligible company. The ACCME defines ineligible companies as those whose "primary business is producing, marketing, selling, reselling, or distributing health care products used by or on patients." The question of whether a disclosed conflict situation could represent undue influence on the educational activity by an ineligible company or whether the disclosed information is sufficient to consider an abstract, presentation, or other educational enduring material to represent potentially biased information must be mitigated prior to an individual's involvement in STS educational programming.

Disclosure information is provided for each presenter at the beginning of the session and/or presentation. If applicable, the absence of relevant financial relationships with ineligible companies will also be disclosed to learners. To review the complete STS Education Disclosure Policy, go to <u>http://www.sts.org/about-sts/policies/education-disclosure-policy.</u>

Intended Audience

The intended audience consists of cardiothoracic surgeons, general surgeons, anesthesiologists, oncologists, cardiologists, pulmonologists, radiologists, and allied health care providers working with cardiothoracic surgeons. MDs and DOs may claim CME credit; non-MDs/DOs are awarded a certificate of participation. Physicians Assistants (PAs) may claim AMA PRA Category 1 Credits[™] for participating in this activity.

Learning Objectives

- Review the results of clinical and laboratory investigations designed to reveal new knowledge of cardiothoracic diseases or develop new technology applicable to the management of cardiothoracic diseases
- Evaluate the impact of new knowledge and the application of new technology on the treatment of cardiothoracic diseases
- Discuss the importance of patient safety issues and how current strategies can be introduced into one's practice or institution
- Discuss surgical techniques in order to improve the standard of care within the specialty
- Examine how public policy can impact the treatment of one's patients
- Share and summarize information provided through small group discussions facilitated by leaders in cardiothoracic surgery

Commercial Relationships of Program Planning Members

The Society would like to thank the following program planners for their work on the educational content of STS 2022.

Unless otherwise noted, these program planners and staff have no financial relationships with ineligible companies to disclose:

All of the relevant financial relationships listed for these individuals have been mitigated.

Board of Directors

Sean C. Grondin John H. Calhoon Thomas E. MacGillivray Joseph F. Sabik, III Joseph A. Dearani Kimberly A. Holst J. Rafael Sábada Alan D. Sihoe - Medela: Consultant; Medtronic, Consultant Marc Ruel – CryoLife: Consultant; Edwards Lifesciences: Speaker, Proctor; Medtronic: Research Support, Proctor Debra A. DaRosa Kevin D. Accola - Edwards Lifesciences: Consultant, Speaker, Research Grant; Abbott: Research Grant Leah M. Backhus - Johnson & Johnson: Speaker Joseph C. Cleveland, Jr. - Abbott: Consultant/Advisory Board Gregory P. Fontana – Abbott: PI, Consultant/Advisory Board; Medtronic: Consultant, Speaker Thomas G. Gleason – Abbott: Consultant/Advisory Board Jennifer C. Romano James S. Tweddell Ara A. Vaporciyan Joanna Chikwe Douglas J. Mathisen Wilson Y. Szeto – Edwards: Investigator, Speaker, Advisory Board; Microinterventional Devices: Consultant; Medtronic: Investigator, Advisory Board; W.L. Gore & Assoc: Investigator, Speaker; Terumo Aortic: Investigator, Speaker, Advisory Board; CryoLife: Investigator, Advisory Board Vinod H. Thourani – CryoLife: Advisor; Edwards Lifesciences: Consultant; Gore Vascular: Advisor; ShockWave: Consultant; Jenavalve: Advisor; Abbott: Consultant; Boston Scientific: Advisor

Workforce on Annual Meeting

John D. Mitchell - Intuitive Surgical: Consultant Usman Ahmad T. Sloane Guy – Edwards Lifesciences: Consultant/Advisory Board; Intuitive Surgical: Proctor and Trainer; Medtronic: Consultant; Johnson & Johnson: Consultant HelenMari L. Merritt-Genore - AtriCure: Proctor Rishindra M. Reddy - Intuitive Surgical: Proctor; Auris Robotics: Consultant; Medtronic: Advisory Board

Workforce on Annual Meeting (Program Task Force)

John D. Mitchell, Chair - Intuitive Surgical: Consultant S. Adil Husain, Vice Chair Yasir Abu-Omar Errol L. Bush Edward P. Chen Jonathan M. Chen - W.L. Gore & Assoc: Advisory Board Elizabeth A. David - AstraZeneca: Advisory Board; Medtronic; Advisory Board Jessica Donington - BMS – Speaker, Consultant; AstraZeneca: Speaker, Consultant; Genentech: Speaker, Consultant Melanie A. Edwards J. W. Awori Hayanga Cynthia S. Herrington Ahmet Kilic Karen M. Kim Michael Lanuti Jennifer S. Lawton S. Jill Ley - Clearflow: Honoraria Jennifer S. Nelson Tom C. Nguyen – Edwards Lifesciences: Proctor; Stefano Schena Elizabeth H. Stephens Wilson Y. Szeto - Edwards: Investigator, Speaker, Advisory Board; Microinterventional Devices: Consultant; Medtronic: Investigator, Advisory Board; W.L. Gore & Assoc: Investigator, Speaker; Terumo Aortic: Investigator, Speaker, Advisory Board; CryoLife: Investigator, Advisory Board James S. Tweddell

Commercial Relationships of STS Staff

Scott Bradbury, Vice President of Education Isabel Dunn, Education Coordinator Meredith Herzog, Associate Director of Education Karen Kostrinsky, Senior Manager, E-Learning Wesley K. Peart, Education Manager Melisa Puthenmadom, E-Learning Coordinator Michele Rush, Senior Manager for Education William F. Seward, Associate Executive Director Amanda Wright, E-Learning Manager